Plan a visit to one of our museums or explore Bisbee's unique historic sites.
Book a family friendly historic, sight-seeing or ghost tour to show you the ropes.
27 Main Street
Artemizia Foundation is a not-for-profit contemporary international art museum located in the heart of historic Old Bisbee. The Foundation creates connections through stimulating conversations and programs designed to effect lasting, transformative impact. Experience cutting edge artwork by some of the most important artists in the world today including Banksy, Swoon, de Kooning, Tracey Emin, Ai Weiwei, Mr. Brainwash, Andy Warhol, Kerry James Marshall, Yayoi Kusama, Blek le Rat, Kara Walker, Jeff Koons, Jenny Saville, Robert Longo and many more. Artemizia Foundation's collection is curated by founder and director Sloane Bouchever. Tickets must be booked in advance.
Bisbee's Heritage Stairs
One of Bisbee’s most magnificent architectural achievements are the countless concrete stairs that cling to the steep canyon-sides. Lack of flat land and the need for miners and bosses to reside near their workings led to the construction of hundreds of hillside homes beginning in the late 1870s. The owners and occupants of the irregularly shaped, sometimes nearly vertical, parcels had to develop dependable routes to reach their properties. The sturdy early Bisbeeite initially relied on precipitous trails featuring switchbacks. However, these winding inclines soon proved impractical as they were difficult to maintain and became slippery in wet weather. Next, the clever canyonside dwellers constructed a network of wooden stairs, often resembling ladders! The wooden stairs provided straight up-and-down access to the dwellings from the canyon floor. This, however, changed in the 1930s. Many of the major concrete stairways we still see today were constructed during the 1930s by the Works Progress Administration, one of the Federal Government’s back-to-work programs. ‘WPA’ was often pressed into the concrete or tagged on an embedded bronze plaque. It is still common for nice houses to be situated on a parcel that is accessible only by climbing 100 or 200 steps to reach the front door! Come explore our stairs...there are thousands of them!
Erie Street, Historic Lowell
Walk back in time and visit a post-apocalyptic landscape from the 1950s. Erie Street is all that is left from what once was a mining town incorporated in the early 1900s. The rest of this historic neighborhood was demolished to widen the open pit copper mine. Erie Street is continually restored by a vibrant and passionate community of residents and volunteers who want to remember a different America. So although you can no longer see a show at Lowell’s movie theater or pay $0.22 for gasoline, the Lowell Americana Project has made it possible to experience the street as a living snapshot of another time. And not everything on Erie Street is purely decorative—visit the Bisbee Breakfast Club for an excellent Huevos Rancheros.
Lavender Pit Mining Overlook
Historic Highway 80
Around the Pit
As you find yourself cruising around Bisbee winding around the pit, make sure to pull off at the Lavender Pit Mining Overlook. It is a quick but interesting stop where you can take in the huge open pit mine that made Bisbee what it is today. Fence cut-outs facilitate unobstructed photos of the interesting looking geographic feature. Take some time to read informational displays that tell you about the mining process and environmental concerns.
Queen Mine Tour
478 N Dart Rd
Take the Queen Mine Tour and find out why it's cool underground! Outfitted in a hard hat, miner’s headlamp and a yellow slicker, thousands of Bisbee visitors descend into the Queen Mine Tour each year—heading underground and back in time. Tour guides, retired Phelps Dodge employees, lead the group 1,500 feet into the mine and recount mining days, techniques, dangers and drama.
Ruppe Avenue at Arizona Street
The ballfield is (arguably) the oldest continuously-operated baseball diamond in the U.S. Historically, copper has been the community's work, but baseball is its play. When the Warren town site was laid out in 1906, a spot was reserved for Warren Ballpark. The first game was played there June 27, 1909. The Ballpark was originally built to give mine workers and their families a chance to watch baseball on lazy summer nights. The cost of construction was $3,600. In its early years, the Warren field hosted town, company and semi-pro teams. In November 1913, the Chicago White Sox and the New York Giants battled it out at Warren as part of an international tour to drum up interest in baseball. The game purportedly featured five future Hall of Famers: outfielders Tris Speaker and Sam Crawford, catcher Ray Schalk, manager John McGraw, and pitcher Red Faber, who would go on to become the majors' last legal spitball pitcher. Also competing that day was 1912 Olympic hero Jim Thorpe, who would eventually be inducted into the Football Hall of Fame. He hit a home run to help the Giants win. The park also holds a notorious place in American labor history, as the location where 1,300 kidnapped, striking miners were marched at gunpoint and held during the Bisbee Deportation in 1917. The first organized minor league team, the Bisbee Bees, began playing in Warren in 1928, in the Class D Arizona State League. Bisbee teams have been farm clubs of the Chicago Cubs, the Los Angeles Angels and New York Yankees, and some famous names have passed through town. Future Yankees player and manager Billy Martin played at Warren for the Phoenix Senators in 1947. The stadium still hosts vintage "Base Ball" tournament each year, with teams from throughout the southwest competing according to 19th century rules, and sporting era-appropriate uniforms.
Bisbee Mining & Historical Museum
#5 Copper Queen Plaza
Discover History: Explore Bisbee’s Past Today! A Smithsonian Affiliate, the Museum offers an interactive trip back in time for the whole family, telling the story of a western copper-mining town’s role in the industrialization of America. The American Industrial revolution not fun to learn about? Think again! Why copper? Find out!
520.432.7071 ext 1
Copper Miner (Iron Man sculpture)
100 Quality Hill (Quality Hill at Tombstone Canyon Rd.)
A New Deal Depression-era sculpture by R. Phillips Sanderson, cast in concrete and covered with a thin layer of copper and completed in 1935. Bisbee native Lee Petrovitch posed for the sculpture, which commemorates the copper miners of Bisbee, and aims to portray ‘beauty, toil and simplicity’. Sanderson had moved to Bisbee during the Depression and worked as a commercial artist. He was paid $30.00 per month by the Federal Emergency Relief Administration during the six months it took to complete the statue.
Old Douglas Road
Established in 1892, Evergreen replaced the Old City Park cemetery in Brewery Gulch, which was upslope from the drinking water wells. Several astute folks of the late 19th century suggested that such a situation might pose a health risk to the early residents of Bisbee. By order of the Common Council of Bisbee in 1914, the transfer of the residents from the old cemetery to Evergreen had begun. Today, there are over 10,000 burials in the cemetery.
Muheim Heritage House Museum
207 Youngblood Hill
This lovely heritage home museum was built by Joseph and Carmelita Muheim. A National Historic site with Queen Anne architectural influences, the home was enlarged from 1898 through 1915 as the family grew. Docents provide guided tours through the restored interior with its period furnishings. From the gardens you can enjoy an impressive panoramic view of the surrounding mountains and hillside homes on Brewery Gulch. The Muheim Heritage House is available for special events such as small weddings, receptions, and other intimate gatherings. Open by appointment.
The Bisbee Seance Room
26 Brewery Ave
Enter Magic Kenny Bang Bang's Victorian Parlor, get whisked back in time, learn the haunted history of Bisbee, Arizona and meet some of its most infamous ghosts in the one hour, theatrical seance. Is it merely a clever display of parlor tricks, or an encounter with the paranormal? You be the judge.
Bisbee Restoration Museum
37 Main Street
Walk through our doors and into Bisbee's past! We have three floors of historic items donated or loaned by Bisbee families. From oddities like a copper High School diploma to a vast collection of textiles from quilts to wedding dresses and the equipment used to make them, our artifacts reflect the diverse and unique spirit that can still be felt in Bisbee today.
Copper Queen Library
6 Main Street
Originally located in a corner of the company store across the street, The Copper Queen was the first public library in Arizona. The current structure, built in 1905-06, is notable for its prominent three story high arches. The ground floor is occupied by the town's central post office, the second and third floors by the Bisbee Public Library. Its collections range from the original Pritchard donation of some 400 classic volumes to the most current titles (including print, audio, video, and electronic) in art, literature, history, politics, medicine, science, and popular culture. Friends of the Copper Queen Library is an association that sponsors educational and volunteer programs in connection with and support of the Library.
Lavender Jeep Tours
11 Howell Ave
Since 2001, we have been introducing visitors to our community with driver-narrated tours throughout the hills and back roads of Old Bisbee, down to the “suburbs,” down to the border, up into the Sky Islands, to the neighboring ghost towns and on a picnic to a nearby ranch. Let us show you the same Bisbee that we have fallen in love with. Our drivers are experts on the history and culture of this unusual city, with decades of familiarity with the attributes that make it attractive and — well, in many ways — quirky.
Old Bisbee Ghost Tours
Celebrating over 14 years of bringing visitors the haunted and macabre stories of Bisbee Arizona! Voted the best attraction in Bisbee and the best ghost tours in Arizona! This is the haunted historical tour your friends have told you about! As seen on Ghost Adventurers, AAA Highroads, Phoenix Magazine, New York Times, USA Today, Good Morning Arizona, Fox 10 News, Arizona Highways TV and MORE!
The Bisbee Tour Company
#8 Naco Rd.
Zip high up in the Bisbee hills & see Bisbee from a whole new perspective! Offering custom golf-cart historic, sight-seeing, and ghost tours. Golf-cart shuttle and transportation services are available as well.